Police Department Overview

Image of Police BadgeThe Fuquay-Varina Police Department is comprised of thirty-four sworn Police Officers along with six civilian positions. To provide the highest level of service possible to our citizens, the department is broken down into three service divisions including Administrative, Patrol, and Special Operations.

The shared Mission of our staff is simple, but critical – “The mission of the Fuquay-Varina Police Department is to serve the people of Fuquay-Varina and to provide safety and improved quality of life in our community through excellence in policing. This will be achieved by embracing the core values of fairness, vigilance, professionalism and dedication.”

The Administrative Division of the department consists of the Chief of Police, Patrol Captain and Special Operations Captain along with a Records Clerk/Secretary and Evidence Technician.

The Patrol Division is broken down into four squads, each squad consisting of a Lieutenant, five Officers and a Dispatcher. They serve as Community Police Officers, investigate motor vehicle accidents, and enforce State laws and Town Ordinances.

The Special Operations Division consists of four Detectives, two Traffic Officers and one School Resource Officer. Three of the four Detectives are assigned to Criminal Investigations and one is primarily assigned to Drug Investigations. Investigators charge those individuals who commit serious crimes such as felonies and some misdemeanor crimes. They also conduct background investigations for employment within the department.

A School Resource Officer is currently located at the Fuquay-Varina High School. This officer is sworn with our department and has the same authority as all other Police Officers within our department.


>> View our Organizational Chart